U.S. Armed Forces badges displayed over a starts and stripes backgroud

Veterans Services

Stay Informed

Sign up for the Maine Department of Labor's quarterly Veterans Update.

The CareerCenter offers specialized employment and training services for Veterans. If you served in the U.S. Armed Forces a CareerCenter Representative can help you find a job, obtain new skills, or access other state or federal resources available to Veterans.

Job Seeker Services

  • Help with your job search, resume writing and interview skills.
  • Guidance to help you translate your military skills to good jobs in the civilian workforce.
  • Referrals to other state and federal resources available to Veterans.

If you are a Veteran or eligible spouse, please identify yourself as such when inquiring about any Maine Department of Labor program. Veterans and eligible spouses are given priority of service for the receipt of employment, training and placement services provided under most Maine Department of Labor-funded programs.

Research

Workforce Conditions for Veterans in Maine - May 23, 2018 (PowerPoint) (PDF)

Veterans Preference Hiring with State of Maine

The State of Maine is an employer that is committed to providing qualified veterans opportunities to compete for jobs in State Government. Maine Law states any veteran or gold star spouse who meets the minimum qualifications established for the position shall be offered an interview with the state agency of the employment opportunity. If you are interested in receiving guidance on other State of Maine openings for which you may be qualified to apply, please contact the Bureau of Human Resources at (207) 624-7761 or visit their website at www.maine.gov/bhr.

How to Connect

Veterans or transitioning service members who meet any of the following can contact a Veterans' Representative below, directly. If neither apply to you, contact your local CareerCenter.

  • You are a veteran with a service connected disability
  • You are homeless or at risk of homelessness
  • You are recently separated and unemployed
  • You have less than a high school diploma
  • You are an offender released in last 12 months
  • You are low income
  • You are between the ages of 18 and 24

Employer Services

Businesses that hire Veterans get dedicated employees who bring a wide range of experience to the workplace. CareerCenter Veterans' Representatives work with local employers to connect Veterans with good jobs. Employers who hire eligible veterans may be able to take advantage of the Work Opportunity Tax Credit. If you are a Maine employer looking to hire quality workers with strong leadership and teamwork skills, contact your local CareerCenter Veterans' Representative for more information.

Learn about the U.S. Department of Labor’s Hire Vets Medallion Program. Click here:

Veterans Serving Veterans

CareerCenter Veterans' Representatives are located around the state and are ready to serve you.

  • Disabled Veteran Outreach Program Specialist (DVOPs) counsel veterans in all aspects of job search and career development.
  • Local Veterans Employment Representative (LVER) work with employers to facilitate employment opportunities for veterans.

LVER –Steven Roy
Steven.L.Roy@maine.gov
Phone: 207-624-5156 

DVOP – Joshua Brown
Joshua.S.Brown@maine.gov
Phone: 207-624-5172

Address: Augusta CareerCenter 
45 Commerce Drive
Augusta, ME 04333 

DVOP – John Wagner
John.W.Wagner@maine.gov
Phone: (207) 721-8200 or 1-888-836-3355

Address: Southern Midcoast CareerCenter 
29 Sewall St
Brunswick, ME 04011

CareerCenter Staff
Phone: 207-255-1900

Address: Machias CareerCenter 
53 Prescott Drive, Suite 1 
Machias, ME 04654

DVOP – Marcel Bosse
Marcel.J.Bosse@maine.gov
Phone: 207-760-6322

Address: Presque Isle CareerCenter 
66 Spruce St, 
Presque Isle, ME 04769

Program Manager – Auta Main
Auta.M.Main@maine.gov
Phone: 207-623-7975

Division Director – David Klein
David.Klein@maine.gov
Phone: 207-623-7987

Address: Maine Dept of Labor
45 Commerce Drive
Augusta, ME 04333

DVOP – Dennis Corson
Dennis.R.Corson@maine.gov
Phone: 207-561-4051

Address: Tri-County CareerCenter 
45 Oak Street Suite 3
Bangor, Maine 04401 

DVOP – Val Graffa
Val.J.Graffa@maine.gov
Phone: 207-753-9086

LVER – Leo Deon
Leo.J.Deon@maine.gov
Phone: 207-753-9092

Address: Lewiston CareerCenter 
5 Mollison Way
Lewiston, ME 04240

CareerCenter Staff
Phone: (207) 474-4950 or 1-800-760-1572

DVOP – Joshua Brown
Joshua.S.Brown@maine.gov
Phone: 207-624-5172

Address: KVCC-Alfond Campus, Averill Building 
23 Stanley Road
Hinckley, ME 04944

LVER – Mark Cafiso
Mark.J.Cafiso@maine.gov
Phone: 207-822-3344

DVOP – Allen Blackstone
Allen.Blackstone@maine.gov
Phone: 207-822-3352

DVOP – Jade Graczyk
Jade.S.Graczyk@maine.gov
Phone:  207-822-3311

Address: Greater Portland CareerCenter 
151 Jetport Blvd 
Portland, ME 04102

DVOP – J.R. (Francis) Abbott
Francis.N.Abbott@maine.gov 
(207) 324-5460 x 2203

Address: York County CareerCenter
9 Bodwell Court
Springvale, ME 04083